top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSheffield Climate Writers

Letter from Earth by Andrea Small




We'll be featuring work by Sheffield Climate Writers as guest posts on this blog, and here to kick us off is 'Letter from Earth' by Andrea Small, which came out of a writing exercise at our initial meeting in July.


Andrea Small lives in Sheffield. She is a member of Heeley Women Writers and is currently engaged in a poetry MA at Manchester Metropolitan University. She runs singing groups for all sorts of people, believing that we all can – and should – sing. Her poetry has been published in Three Drops from a Cauldron, Algebra of Owls, Strix and Dream Catcher.


Letter from Earth


Dear Humanity

It pains me to have to write to you in this manner, but your activity is increasingly a cause for concern. Your files, carefully maintained by HR, contain many instances of inappropriate behaviour and consequent warnings.


I am sure that you will agree that I have bent over backwards to accommodate your mistakes, understanding that due to your extreme youth, you have needed time to learn and develop in your own ways. I am afraid that the time has come to tell you that those ways are not working.


I allowed you to populate me, to mine me, to cut down my forests because I thought – how foolishly – that you would learn through your actions that your procedures, your explorations, were finite. You have been creative, I must admit: the invention of God was particularly clever; the invention of money less so.


I have operated a hands-off policy with you for long enough. I must now inform you that you are required to attend a Tribunal on Monday next, where your charges (think Jacob Marley’s chain and then some) will be laid before you.


You are entitled to representation – never let it be said that I did not give you a chance to defend yourselves – but in fairness I must advise you that the evidence against you is compelling.


Attendance is mandatory. My decision is final.


yours, &c

Earth



We've also asked contributors to add their thoughts about the meeting, or about climate writing. Here's Andrea's piece:


Reflections on first meeting of Sheffield Climate Writers


I enjoyed attending this well-structured and expertly facilitated session. Starting with some deep listening was a helpful way to hear another’s thoughts and grope towards my own through speaking them.

In no way can I describe myself as any kind of activist. Whilst understanding the need for action to address climate change, whilst admiring the energy and commitment of those who campaign, I remain sceptical of the efficacy of marches and demonstrations. I am always struck by the irony of the expenditure of such energy to an uncertain end.

Neither have I tolerance for the rhetoric of destruction. At the meeting, someone talked about “bringing down the government”, to a general hum of approval. I did not hum.

I did write, though. I liked both pieces I wrote - I gussied one up for this website – and I thought. I thought about what I, a sceptical non-marching writer with a working critical faculty, can do.

I can write.

So I will.


Andrea Small


75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page